Boy Shorts

Boy shorts

Wow! Success! Thank god after a few disasters in the past week….(the wedding garter and then the pouch).

For the first time I have used a pattern; and it was a digital pattern! I didn’t realise that you don’t have to go into a store, flip through hundreds of pages from pattern books until you decide on the pattern, then go to the checkout and purchase it, get it home and then start cutting it up, just like my mother used to do when I was a child. I used to get so bored sitting in those haberdashery shops for hours on end waiting for her to find the perfect pattern for her next outfit. Now all you need to do is download them from the net! So I picked up this super cute short pattern from Dana’s website MADE for only US$6.00; I used her KID SHORTS pattern – it was super easy and I’ve finished them already – complete with pockets as well.

IMG_7023

There are no fabric shops close by to where I live so it requires getting my three kids in the car and dragging them to the shop, hoping (and praying) that they actually behave so I needed to find an alternative! So, the alternative is to walk up the road to the local Salvo’s and pick up some second hand t-shirts and shirts. For these shorts I picked up a large mens seersucker short sleeved shirt and I think it has worked out really well. There’s enough fabric left to make another pair and the shirt cost me AUD$4.00!

IMG_7020

This was a really easy pattern to follow so I can highly recommend it to anyone wanting something easy to sew. In the pattern there are a number of different styles so your US$6.00 goes a very long way! With the pockets I have them lined in red which adds a bit of interest as you can see a bit of the red on the edging of the pockets. I also added my new labels to them which was a bit of fun…and it makes them look a lot less home made which is always nice.                                                            IMG_7032

My little man is pretty pleased with himself in his new shorts! He has already put in an order for another pair – in navy I’ve been told. I’ll try and get a second pair done before the weekend. You really will be surprised how easy they are to whip up!

IMG_7049

IMG_7027

IMG_7040

6 thoughts on “Boy Shorts

  1. Pingback: Too Many Things to Make… | Tape & Measure

  2. Pingback: Patterns = Heart Palpitations!! | Tape & Measure

  3. So cute Pep, are you taking orders?!? and how about Dax the model… hahaha classic, he is seriously striking a few poses there. xxx

Leave a Reply

